Tags


“I need a BLACK ESTEEM TODAY, and nothing else.”

“Sir. Please. Let me explain you. Black colour…”

“…is very difficult to maintain. I know, but I need just black Esteem and Today.

Call only, if you can arrange one for me. Yes or No. Otherwise…” . interrupting

Rohit, the sales executive I disconnected the phone.

The conversation called one of my senior colleague’s attention. As known for his ever-ready helping habit, he offered to do something in this regard. Within no one time his fingers were dialing some number. After a brief talk he suddenly threw his cell in my hand.

“Hi Shekharji! What a coincidence, Shekhar this side too. Me Shekhar KD and one of the chums of your nice colleague.” quipped in Maithili coated English, and continued, “Why Esteem? Why don’t you opt for Baleno?”

Now, I was sandwitched between two sales executives. One was convincing me to change the colour of my choice, and other trying to sell that model of car which was not on my agenda.

Getting a car is a dream, for many till date. It applied on me too, before joining the car owners’ club. When my new Yamha RX-100 stolen, I decided not to buy another bike, but a car. The stolen bike was sponsored by my Dadaji during college days. So, from self earned money I had to go for car only.

It was Alto at the onset. But I found Alto very small. I think the car should be that LARGE, if, it meets with an accident, it suffers on its own.

The frontal portion having engine, and the rear space for boot should be as buffer area. Possessing a small car makes feeling of having a scooter, the orthodox lower middle class look.

Following long session of discussion, I opt for Wagon R. I, along with my friend Vishwakarma, reached in a showroom at Connaught Place. The executive showed us a limited edition Wagon R. Vishwakarma was in hurry, as usual. on my behalf, he paid ten thousand from his credit card as booking amount. It was full and final.

But first timers always think big. The choice shifted to bigger one. Instantly,

suggestion came out. “Go for Esteem, ”

Next day Rohit, the sales executive, was conveyed about change in idea. A little effort made him convinced. I told him that now I need a Esteem, but strictly black and by November 27th only.

On 26th Rohit called me and informed that the vehicle is waiting at showroom. But the option was pearl silver or silky silver, and not the black. I refused the manipulated offer.

And then the auspicious day, November 27th, came. Everything was ready. The cash, the cheques and required documents. My phone rang.

“Sir, good morning.” It was Rohit. “Congratulations in advance, you’re getting your car today. Please let me know the ETA (expected time of arrival). I’ll be there to welcome you.”

Again I had to say NO, as there was no option of black.

And this was the moment, when my colleague introduced me with my Name-mate, Shekhar KD. After a while, Rohit was again on line, and trying to convince me. He was again for pearl silver or silky silver, while I admant on Black. Another call was in waiting.

“Shekharji? Pehchana mujhe?” Shekhar this side.”

“Oh. Sure.” It seems he had got my number from your colleague.

He continued, “I’ve spoken to my manager. I told him that you, a friend of mine, are going to purchase the Baleno. I made him agree for a heavy discount too.

baleno car from marutiI wanted Esteem, but he wanted to sell me Baleno. He himself appointed my well wisher for his own interest.

“So, Baleno final. OKay,” asked the excited executive focused on his client convincing mission.

I resisted, “No. I can’t afford Baleno, Esteem is my last choice. So please, arrange a black Esteem today, if you seek to favour me.”

Instead hearing me, he continued, “I maintain Baleno and Alto. In terms of mileage, the two are equal performers. The only difference is their size. One is big, and other small. If you choose Baleno, there would be a very meagre difference in EMI, as compared to Esteem. And just 20 thousand more you’ve to pay as down payment.

I had seen Baleno on roads, but skipped any information during my research on cars, and never thought of Baleno as it was a costly affair.

First I was shocked on his claim. “In terms of mileage, the two are equal performers.

(both were on line, but no exchange of words)

He used my pause, it was his last free hit.

“Then OK. We’re coming to collect papers. Just spare a few seconds for me.”

His professional skills over powered my reasoning power. He left no time to think me of others. After just three hours, I was proud owner of Baleno. The car that I didn’t PURCHASE, rather it was SOLD to me. But what was my loss?

The revealing truth came before me, after a few weeks. The Maruti had already stopped the production of Baleno and it was a specific direction to dealers, to clear the stock ASAP. There is no comparison between mileage of Baleno and Alto.

Baleno is the Elephant while the latter is a calf.

Ultimately I tasted the truth at a cost of more than five lakhs, which I should be aware of such business tactis. He was on his duty. His only mission was to convince the client- i.e. me- and sell the product. It’s not a matter, who’s on other side.

[Republished, earlier posted on http://www.politicscope.com. The article is published on previous date to maintain relevance.]

