Tags


Posted on December 9, 2011 by MS

“Any one of you is most welcome. If you seek medical guidance or any other helps this moment, ” said the person who joined us in the compartment of Sadbhawana Express in Varanasi. The TTE was also known to him, and he formally introduced the guy.
Before any other co-passenger, I introduced myself and let him know the problem persisting in my eyes. He took out and wore his instrument. He asked someone for a pen. I thought he wanted to write medicine. I feared for a while as he tried to view the inner portion with the help of that pen. He instantly diagnosed, “Oh! It’s trachoma. No problem, take medicines properly. You’ll be fine. But no laxity in it. Your eyes are getting deteriorated. I’d like to warn you that it can’t be corrected with surgery.”
I was scared of my problem, but, simultaneously happy as it was diagnosed. And, now I’ll be fine, if took medicines properly. Diagnosis is the most affecting problem in medical field. I know lot of patients who went through different tests, took several medicines while consulting doctors like pillar and post. Interestingly, under the same roof of a renowned hospital. I too have visited ophthalmologists for the same, but to no avail.

This was the first time, I met a mobile doctor. Earlier, I’d seen, or say met, mobile library, mobile clinic, mobile pathology and mobile hospital. But, the guy I encountered on board is really ‘The Ambulance Man’. He is on duty 24×7. Wherever, wherever he moves he is ready to help.
He, in true sense, a one man army. A black bag is his only emergency kit. Some instruments to check eyes, some medicines and several necessary items kept in the bag.
He relieves several agonies. He treats all the persons who need medical help on his way, beyond the reach of ambulance at the moment.
“I was getting back from out station. I saw a lady became unconscious after crying a lot. She had fell from some train in Lahartara area of Varanasi. Her one arm had cut from shoulder. People had surrounded her. All wondering, but none thinking of help,” the doc recalls a moment.
“Her cloths indicated that she was very poor and alone at the time,” continues the doctor, “I tied the cut arm with some cloth to her body. When I sought help from an autowallah, he didn’t stop in the name of no petrol. Then, I asked the man on a three-wheeler carrier. He too was not willing to cooperate. When I shouted how he dare not to help in such a condition, who would help him when he needed? Afterwards, he made the lady reach hospital. ”
One of the persons along with this ambulance man introduced him as Dr. Kailash Rai, an Ophthalmic Surgeon.
[Pic : PS Team | Model : Chhotu | This piece is being republished]

